Paper dolls

20130703-221010.jpg
I was obsessed with paper dolls as a child. I have several sets of them saved that I treasure. I’m enamored with the detail in their clothing and tiny tabs that secure the outfit to the master paper cutout. They were so much easier to change then a Barbie that I could never pull the pants onto. Paper dolls were such a integral part of my play.
When I took a drawing class a year ago I revisited my paper doll fascination in a series of work. At the time it was extremely therapeutic to assign people in my life to paper dolls and very naively draw in their faces. It’s a series I want to revisit.
In the meantime whenever I’m confronted by the 2-dimensional sphere I gravitate to my paper dolls. I’ve pulled them out for the next work and I can’t wait to play once again!

Leave a Reply

